To Everything (Turn! Turn! Turn!) There Is A Season

Step into a world of transformation and evolution with Sounds of Change. Guided by the baton of DPO associate conductor Héctor Jardón and the enchanting melodies of flutist Whitney Kelley, we’ll journey through compositions that mirror the shifts and progressions of society and time. Florence Price’s Concert Overture No. 1, a powerful testament to resilience from the Jim Crow era, resonates with themes of change and unity while Liebermann’s Flute Concerto, brought to life by Whitney Kelley’s virtuosity, weaves melodies of hope and transformation. Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 5 “Reformation” immerses us in a symphonic exploration of reform and renewal, perfectly echoing the spirit of the season’s changing leaves.

Florence Price
Concert Overture No. 1

Lowell Liebermann
Flute Concerto

Felix Mendelssohn
Symphony No. 5 “Reformation”